The title of “European Cultural Capital” has been awarded each year since 1985 for a period of 12 months. The European Cultural Capital 2025 will be selected by the Council of the European Union in 2021 following a multistage bidding procedure – two cities in Europe carry this title each year. Germany and Slovenia will put forward the European Cultural Capitals in 2025.

The official bidding phase for the cities in Germany begins at the end of 2018, and the final decision will be announced in 2021. The European Union accompanies the entire selection procedure. In Germany, Weimar (1999) and Essen/Ruhr (2010) were the most recent “European Cultural Capitals”.